The Drive-in returns to the Cape

During the months of September and November the Pop-up cinema will set up a weekly drive-in cinema and monthly Retroscope at the V&A Waterfront.

Those who have fond memories of the drive-in cinema will be able to experience it all over again with feature length films, sound transmitted directly to the car’s radio, and waiters delivering popcorn and other treats to the cars.

Why go?

There are plenty of activities to partake in before and during the screening of the movie. Grab a box of freshly made pop-corn with Pop-up’s homemade natural pop spice; indulge in delicious foods and drinks on sale from a selection of local vendors such as Marley Coffee, Sampson’s Biltong; and treat yourself to a massage at the movies and vintage stalls.

First come, first park

On arrival parking marshals will usher cars one by one to a parking bay reserved for that size car. SUVs will be placed in the back rows and smaller cars in front.

Where, when and how much?

Dates: September – November

Time: Gates open at 18:00

Venue: 2 Somerset Road Greenpoint (Cape Town cruise terminal, V&A Waterfront)

Cost: R250 per car (unlimited no. of people allowed in the car)


Date Day Movie PG Movie Starts
09  Sep Fri Brave PG 8:30pm
10 Sep Sat The Fast and the Furious PG-7 8:30pm
23 Sep Fri Viva Las Vegas PG-7 8:30pm
24 Sep Sat Cars All 8:30pm
30 Sep Fri Gnomeo & Juliet All 8:30pm
01 Oct Sat The Godfather R 8:30pm
07 Oct Fri Pokémon: The Movie All 8:30pm
14 Oct Fri Talladega Nights PG-13 8:30pm
15 Oct Sat The Jungle Book (1967) All 8:30pm
21 Oct Fri Footloose (1984) PG 8:30pm
28 Oct Fri Priscilla Queen of the Desert R 8:30pm
29 Oct Sat Christine R 8:30pm
04 Nov Fri The Darjeeling Limited R 8:30pm
05 Nov Sat V for Vendetta PG-11 8:30pm
11 Nov Fri Ghostbusters (1984) PG 8:30pm
18 Nov Fri James Bond: Dr. No PG 8:30pm


Retroscope experience

There’s also the Retroscope drive-in, a fully immersive retro experience reminiscent of the days gone by when cars were pink and rock ‘n roll was born.

The Pop-up cinema has partnered with Retrospective and 8-Crate to bring the 1950’s era back to life. You can expect classic vintage cars filling up the front row, props and films to suit the theme, roller girls and so much more.  Cinemagoers are encouraged to dress up in 1950s inspired outfits.

For tips and inspiration on what to wear, click here and here.

There are some rules to abide by:

  • All types of four wheeled vehicles are welcomed.
  • No motorcycles allowed.
  • In case of bad weather the event will be postponed and ticket holders will be notified.
  • The team does not accept any responsibility to any damage occurred to any vehicles or person attending this event.
  • 25% Of all tickets purchased online will be donated to Salesians, an institute that has provided education, shelter and emotional support for at-risk young people.

Site layout